black beauty

2012011127-1

I know this is a kid’s book. I’m well past my childhood days but I’ve only just read it. I get it. I get why there are so many pony-mad kids around now. After my short stint with the mounted police, I did appreciate them a great deal more and truly did miss a couple of the horses. Then I did another stint with the Riding for Disable, which drove me to the pony-mad town. Now after reading Black Beauty, I wish nothing more than to own a horse!

This book was by far one of the saddest books I’ve ever read. Though I am fully aware of how a significant part of the world treats animals, I can’t help but get all worked up again and feel the need to right the wrongs. I feel slightly more empowered to work towards my dream job/goal. That’s a whole different post. All the same, I’m quite glad that the author did not try to gloss over the realities of life. I’m even though quite sad and feel deeply for the a lot of the characters of the book, I’m glad that it exposes the harshness of the life through the eyes of one who normally has no voice. I know for sure I will give this book to my little nephew to read. And if I have children, this book might be first on their reading list!

“Do you know why this world is as bad as it is?… It is because people think only about their own business, and won’t trouble themselves to stand up for the oppressed, nor bring the wrong-doers to light… My doctrine is this, that if we see cruelty or wrong that we have the power to stop, and do nothing, we make ourselves sharers in the guilt.”
― Anna SewellBlack Beauty

Leave a Reply

